2 Comments

Sunflower Dress

I saw this dress in May/June 2013 issue of “Sew Beautiful” magazine. I have wanted to make it since then. I finally got a chance to start it last weekend.

Sunflower Dress 4

I had an Olabelhe pattern that I really liked and thought it would work out well for this dress. It was the pattern I used on “Addie’s Springtime Dress”. I used the pattern for the top and just added the two rows of gathering. Boy the serger is a great way to do your gathering for a job like this. I do need more practice with this though.

Well, all was going well until I tried to put it on my 7-8 manikin. It didn’t fit! I am not sure how it happen, but the top is only a size 5. I checked the pattern and I used the 7-8. I am not sure where I went wrong, but this the first time I have been disappointed in one of Olabelhe patterns. If I hadn’t made that exact top before I would say it was the pattern, but I am afraid it was operator error. That is OK I am sure I can find a little girl who would love this dress. I decided to only add two rows of gathering, as for the smaller size three would back it too long.

Sunflower Dress 1Sunflower Dress 2Sunflower Dress 3

2 comments on “Sunflower Dress

Leave a Reply

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

musings and motion

Thoughts on teaching, running, knitting, and sewing

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Purls and Pleats

A Knitting and Sewing Blog

horizonknits

I've been knitting for 12 years and it's time to talk about it.

MezzoCouture

in which I document my attempts to sew....

Ginger Makes...

I make stuff!

sewmanju

A British blogger writing about sewing clothes, pattern reviews and DIY fashion.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Nice and Knit

Lovingly Hand Dyed Yarns

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

Sew Deputy

Dressmaking

ZIBERGIRL SEWS

Still sewing after all these years

The Sunny Side

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Sewbon

Sewing + DIY

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

